Tshepo Mathibelle wins Soweto Marathon

The flag of Lesotho waved proudly at the Soweto Marathon as Tsepo Mathibele ended Ethiopia’s dominance at the event.

The 24th Soweto Marathon took place in the Johannesburg township, Soweto, yesterday.

The race boasts historic attractions such as Vilakazi Street, Morris Isaacson High School, and the 16 June Memorial Acre.

The runner from the Mountain Kingdom crossed the finish line inside the FNB Stadium in a time of two hours 19 minutes and 41 seconds.

Running in the colours of Patane Athletics Club, Mathibele finished ahead of the defending and three-time champion Sintayehu Legese of Ethiopia.

Ntsindiso Mphakati claimed third place and was also the first South African over the line.

Irvette van Zyl ended South Africa’s drought by winning the women’s race.

The Nedbank Running Club athlete crossed the line in 2 hours 41 minutes and six seconds to become the first local winner since 2009.

South Africa’s female athlete, Mapaseka Makhanya came second while Ethiopia’s Selam Abere Alebachew claimed third.

A delighted Van Zyl admitted that a one point, she thought victory was not to be.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.